About the Department

The Josephine Police Department was established in 1982. The department was comprised of a Chief and three reserve officers. Chief Dennis Dickerson was unanimously voted into the position of Chief of Police by the City Council at a starting salary of $1 per year.

Today, Josephine PD remains a small rural department comprised of a Chief and one full-time officer who serve the needs of nearly 2,000 residents.

The Josephine Police Department adheres to a philosophy of community policing and encourages officers to work with the community to accomplish common goals and allowing citizens to become stakeholders in their safety through education and partnership.

Officers of the Josephine Police Department conduct routine patrol activities, enforce all State and local traffic laws as well as investigate all crimes reported within the city limits of the City of Josephine.

The Josephine Police Department is dispatched through the Collin County Sheriff’s Office. For non-emergency assistance, Dispatch can be reached by calling (972) 547-5350.

In the event of an emergency, please dial 9-1-1.